Full List Of Winners Cannes 2017

- -

The prestigious Cannes film festival wrapped on Sunday night and with it came the coveted awards including the illustrious Palm d’Or awarded to the best film at the festival. While not always an indicator of future success during award season, winning at Cannes is still a resume builder that has put up and coming filmmakers on the public radar. This year’s jury included:  Pedro Almodovar, Will Smith, Jessica Chastain, Fan Bingbing, Agnès Jaoui, Park Chan-wook, Maren Ade, Paolo Sorrentino and Gabriel Yared. Here are the complete list of winners:

Palme d’Or
“The Square”, director: Ruben Ostlund

The Force Majeure director makes his return after a three-year absence taking home top honors for this film on the social/ political climate of his native Sweden starring Elisabeth Moss.

Special 70th Anniversary Prize
Nicole Kidman

Kidman who appears in 4 films at the festival this year received a special anniversary prize.

Grand Prize
“120 Beats Per Minute”, director: Robin Campillo

Best Director
Sofia Coppola, “The Beguiled”

Coppola becomes only the second woman to take home the honor after Yuliya Solntseva in 1961 for “The Chronicle of Flaming Years.”

Best Actor
Joaquin Phoenix, “You Were Never Really Here”

Best Actress
Diane Kruger, “In The Fade”

Jury Prize
“Loveless”, director: Andrey Zvyagintsev

Best Screenplay
Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthymis Filippou, “The Killing Of A Sacred Deer”
Lynne Ramsay, “You Were Never Really Here”

A rare tie for the award shared between the director of last year’s The Lobster and the director of 2011’s indie drama We Need To Talk About Kevin

Short Film Palme d’Or
“A Gentle Night”, director: Qui Yang
Special Mention: “The Ceiling”, director: Teppo Airaksinen

Caméra d’Or
“Jeune Femme”, director: Leonor Serraille

2017 Un Certain Regard winners: 

Un Certain Regard Prize: Mohammad Rasoulof – “A Man of Integrity”
Best Actress: 
Jasmine Trinca – “Fortunata”
Best Poetic Narrative:
 Mathieu Amalric – “Barbara”
Best Direction: 
Taylor Sheridan – “Wind River”
Jury Prize:
 Michel Franco – “April’s Daughter”

2017 International Critics Week winners:

Nespresso Grand Prize: Emmanuel Gras – “Makala”
France 4 Visionary Award: Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa – “Gabriel and the Mountain”
Leica Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film: Laura Ferrés – “Los Desheredados”
Gan Foundation Support for Distribution Award: Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa – “Gabriel and the Mountain”
SACD Award: Léa Mysius – “Ava”
Canal+ Award: Aleksandra Terpińska – “The Best Fireworks”

2017 Director’s Fortnight winners:

Art Cinema Award: Chloé Zhao – “The Rider”
SACD Award: Claire Denis – Let the Sunshine In, Philippe Garrel – “Lover for a Day”
Europa Cinemas Label Award: Jonas Carpignano – “A Ciambra”
Illy Prize for Short Film: Benoit Grimalt – “Back to Genoa City”

Longtime Wong Kar-Wai cinematographer Christopher Doyle was also honored at Cannes for his contributions to film.

Nate Lam
Nate Lamhttp://beforethecyborgs.com
Editor-in-chief of Before The Cyborgs. Part-time filmmaker and occasional short story author. One day he hopes to be as cool as Bill Murray.



Review: The Mule

Neither Clint Eastwood nor The Mule itself are the flashiest or most sophisticated effort you'll ever see but the familiarity of their approach lends itself to a satisfying result nonetheless

Related Articles